An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News Stories
Navy Expeditionary Combat Command (NECC)

NECC presents EOD Leadership Excellence Award

by Lt. j.g. Rae Timberlake
30 October 2023 POINT LOMA, Calif. (Oct. 24, 2023) - Rear Adm. Bradley Andros, commander, Navy Expeditionary Combat Command, presented the Cmdr. Kevin P. Childre Excellence Award to Lt. Carey Peekstok, assigned to Explosive Ordnance Disposal Training and Evaluation Unit One (EODTEU-1), Oct. 24.

The Commander Kevin P. Childre Excellence Award recognizes an outstanding senior enlisted or EOD officer who epitomizes the community’s ethos and excellence in leadership while serving in a training role. The award is named for Cmdr. Kevin P. Childre, a tenacious leader who stood for excellence in all things and dedicated his career to mentoring, developing, and training EOD leaders.

As the officer-in-charge of EODTEU-1’s China Lake, Calif. detachment, Peekstok led the development and implementation of a series of rigorous Pacific Fleet training scenarios designed to advance the skills of EOD techs who come through TEU for training.

“As someone who knew Kevin, I can tell you that Carey Peekstok exemplifies Kevin’s values in his dedication to cultivating the talents of the next generation of EOD technicians,” said Andros. “Carey’s work ensures the EOD community can compete, fight, and win whenever and wherever needed.”

Peekstok, a native of Gobles, Mich., has served in the Navy for 18 years and was inspired by his grandfather to join. EOD Group 1 leadership, EODTEU-1 shipmates, and Peekstok’s wife were on hand to celebrate the honor.

“Honestly, receiving this award is something I’m most proud of,” said Peekstok. “Commander Childre was an exceptional human being and leader and to even be considered for this is an incredible honor for me.”

Other award winners within the EOD community this year include Lt. Daniel Quinn, the recipient of the Rear Adm. Draper L. Kauffman Leadership Award and Senior Chief Explosive Ordnance Disposal Harvey C. Fisher, the recipient of the Force Master Chief Anthony L. Santino Leadership Award.

“The leadership and excellence displayed by these individuals honor those who have worn the crab before us, sets the standard for our warriors today, and paves the way for our future force,” said Andros. “My sincerest congratulations to them all. Well done!”

The Navy’s explosive ordnance disposal force is the only maritime EOD and mobile diving and salvage capability within the Department of Defense. EOD operators conduct maritime mine countermeasures; counter improvised explosive devices, weapons of mass destruction, and other types of explosive hazards; and enable special operations and conventional forces access to denied areas.